These settings allow you to customize the functionality of the application. Basically, you specify how video sequences and photos are captured, where the files are stored, how they are displayed, and what your upload preferences are.
The settings you specify are preserved even after the application is closed. Some settings are taken into account immediately after they are changed, while others (mainly those affecting video/photo capture) are considered only when a video/photo session is started.
To avoid confusions, it is recommended to change the settings only when you are not recording videos or capturing photos. And for your own safety, please change the settings only when the car is not moving!